2012 NAACP Dr. R.W. Jones Freedom Fund Banquet

by Angela Allen | North Amarillo Now
photos by Angela Allen |North Amarillo Now


Picture 1 of 4

The Amarillo Branch of the NAACP held its Annual Dr. R. W. Jones Freedom Fund Banquet on Saturday November 3, 2012 at the Civic Center Grand Plaza.

Presiding over the banquet was Reverend and Mrs. Tiller Watson of New Hope Baptist Church. The Jazz Standard provided music as the guest arrived and during dinner. Dinner was catered by La Fiesta Grande.

Invocation was provided by Reverend James Tudman. Mr. Clemon Whitaker addressed the audience about the responsibility of the NAACP and made a “Freedom Fund Appeal” stating that the Freedom Fund Banquet is the only fundraiser conducted by the NAACP and gave the audience an opportunity to contribute to the organization.

Awards were presented by President, Mr. Floyd Anthony and Mr. Billy Dedrick 1st Vice President:

Dr. R.W. Jones Freedom Fund Achievement Award
Billy Dedrick

Amarillo Branch NAACP 2012 Corporate Sponsor Award
Amarillo Independent School District

Amarillo Branch NAACP 2012 Community Service Award
John & Betty Solis

Amarillo Branch NAACP 2012 Special Achievement Award
Rev. Tiller Watson III

Amarillo Branch NAACP 2012 President’s Award
Freda Powell

Amarillo Branch NAACP Dr. R.W. Jones Lifetime Achievement Award
Jewell Allen

Amarillo Branch NAACP Humanitarian Award
Claudia Stravato

The Keynote Speaker for the banquet was Dr. Hannah Oliha, PhD, of West Texas A&M University. Dr. Oliha was born in West Africa and raised in England, her family moved to the United States in 1996.

Dr. Oliha states that her life changing journey birthed a passion in her for healthy communities that engender inclusion, equity and the positive engagement of all persons. Dr. Oliha used her life experiences to encourage the audience to not be afraid to take the next step, and to be accepting of change.

President, Floyd Anthony and members of the organization presented a special award to Amarillo Branch NAACP Secretary Mrs. Maggie Smith, whom after more than twenty years of service will be retiring as Secretary.

President Floyd Anthony also received an award for his 8 years of service as President of the Amarillo Branch of NAACP. Mr. Anthony announced he will not be seeking another term as President.

Elections for new officers will be held Saturday, November 10, from 12:00 – 4:00p.m. at 1300 N. Hughes (Panhandle Community Service Building). You must be a member of the NAACP to vote. Those seeking the office of President are Mr. Billy Dedrick and Rev. B.F. Roberts.

Share Button
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
North Amarillo Now